Denise Amy Baxter facing forward, wearing glasses with a pearl spectacle cord, long brown hair, blue top

Brian Scott Campbell facing forward, somber, light beard, brown hair, blue shirt

Carey Gibbons facing forward, smiling, long blond wavy hair, black top

Su Yang facing forward, smiling, hair pulled back, black top

Denise Amy Baxter, left, Brian Scott Campbell, Carey Gibbons, and Su Yang

The College Art Association of America elects Denise Amy Baxter as board president; Nada Shabout completes her board term.

May 1, 2024 — The CAA membership recently announced its election of Denise Amy Baxter, professor of Art History and associate dean of the UNT Toulouse Graduate School, as president of the CAA Board of Directors for two years. Charged with the CAA’s long-term financial stability and strategic direction, the board is the association’s governing body. It sets policy regarding all CAA activities, including publishing, the annual conference, awards and fellowships, advocacy, and committee procedures.

"I am humbled to announce that beginning this weekend, I will be serving as the President of the College Art Association," says Baxter. Founded in 1911, the College Art Association is the preeminent international leadership organization in the visual arts. It promotes these arts and their understanding through advocacy, intellectual engagement, and a commitment to diverse practices and practitioners. Baxter says her goal is to work to assure the association's continued relevance and strength — for the good of current and future members and the broad flourishing of art and design.

Brian Scott Campbell, co-chair of the Committee on Research and Scholarship; Carey Gibbons, assistant professor of Art History; and Su Yang, assistant professor of Foundations, who are members of the Committee on Women in the Arts, are also doing important work for the association. Art History Professor Nada Shabout recently completed her board term.

The Committee on Research and Scholarship is charged with gathering information, assessing trends, and proposing organizational advocacy for CAA on advancing research and scholarship in visual arts and design, encompassing all facets of research regarding history, education, and practice. 

The Committee on Women in the Arts promotes the scholarly study and recognition of women’s contributions to the visual arts and critical and art-historical studies; advocates for feminist scholarship and activism in art; develops partnerships with organizations with compatible missions; monitors the status of women in the visual-arts professions; provides historical and current resources on feminist issues; and supports emerging artists and scholars in their careers.


Share now or add us to your RSS feed! 

Facebook Icon
Twitter Icon
Pinterest Icon
Mail Icon
linkedin sharing button
SMS sharing button

CVAD Mission: Cultivating creative talent and critical minds within a collaborative and caring environment.

Editor's Note: Please note that information on this site is likely to change or degrade over time, especially the links to various external websites. Search the UNT or CVAD websites or the world wide web for current information about a specific topic. Email your questions and comments to CVAD Marketing,

Note: Should you need reasonable accommodation due to a disability to fully participate in a CVAD event, please contact the CVAD Dean's Office,, 940-565-4001. For voice access, dial 1-800-RELAYTX (735-2989). Please make the request as soon as possible to allow sufficient time to arrange the accommodation.

UNT is an accredited institutional member of the National Association of Schools of Art and Design, 11250 Roger Bacon Drive, Suite 21, Reston, VA 20190-5248, phone: 703-437-0700; fax: 703-437-6312; email: