Dorff, Packer and Shabout earn UNT Faculty Excellence Awards

Feb. 11, 2021 — Three CVAD faculty members have been selected for awards of excellence to be presented formally in April at UNT's Salute to Faculty Excellence event. 

The selection committee members were Warren Burggren, professor, biological sciences and faculty senate representative; Bertina Combes, vice provost for faculty success and committee chair; Dornith Doherty, professor, Studio Art; Steve Friedson, professor, music history, theory and ethnomusicology and faculty senate representative; Valerie Martinez-Ebers, professor, political science and faculty senate representative; Pamela Padilla, associate vice president, Office of Research and Innovation; and Bugao Xu, chair, merchandising and digital retailing.

Karen Dorff, head and shoulders portrait

Karen Dorff

Karen Dorff has been selected as the recipient of the 2021 UNT Foundation Outstanding Lecturer Award. Karen is the coordinator for the undergraduate program in Communication Design: Graphic Design; and a principal lecturer for Communication Design in CVAD's Department of Design.

The UNT Foundation Outstanding Lecturer Award recognizes a full-time lecturer who has made significant and sustained contributions to the university as evidenced by the quality of their teaching and service. This award is the university’s highest honor for full-time lecturers. The annual award includes a one-time cash award, a commemorative engraved gift, and the distinction of UNT Foundation Outstanding Lecturer.

Allyson Packer, head and shoulders portrait

Allyson Packer

UNT’s first DSI-CLEAR Outstanding ‘Course in a Box’ Online Teacher and Course Award goes to Allyson Packer, lecturer in the CVAD Foundations program, for her online course ART 1600, Narrative and Representation! Selected by the DSI-CLEAR team for exceptional online design and pedagogy, the “Course in a Box” award will be presented formally at the Salute to Faculty Excellence ceremonies in April.

DSI-CLEAR: The Digital Strategy and Innovation-Center for Learning Experimentation, Application and Research Online Teacher & Course Award is a university-wide program to recognize excellence in the design of online courses and the facilitation of the instructional experience using educational technology. The Online Teacher and Course Award recipient receives the distinction of being recognized that their online course has been deemed outstanding based on nationally recognized standards for excellence in online course design. The award includes a cash award and a trophy for the "Outstanding Course in a Box" Online Teacher and Course Award.

Nada Shabout, head and shoulders portrait

Nada Shabout

Nada Shabout, Department of Art History, has been selected as a UNT Regents Professor!

The purpose of the Regents Professorship Award is to provide recognition for faculty at the rank of a professor who has performed outstanding teaching, research and service to the profession, and who have achieved a high level of national and international recognition. The award consists of the designation “Regents Professor” and a one-time cash award.  An individual who retires from faculty status while holding the designation of Regents Professor shall receive the designation of Regents Professor Emeritus.


Share now or add us to your RSS feed! 

Facebook Icon
Twitter Icon
Pinterest Icon
Mail Icon
linkedin sharing button
SMS sharing button

Editor's Note: Please note that information in the stories on CVAD News and Views are likely to change or degrade over time, especially the links to various websites. For current information on a specific topic or resources, search the UNT or CVAD websites or the world wide web. Email your questions and comments to CVAD Marketing,



Note: Should you need a reasonable accommodation because of a disability to fully participate in a CVAD event, please contact the CVAD Dean's Office,, 940-565-2855. Please make the request as soon as possible to allow sufficient time to arrange the accommodation.

UNT is an accredited institutional member of the National Association of Schools of Art and Design, 11250 Roger Bacon Drive, Suite 21, Reston, VA 20190-5248, phone: 703-437-0700; fax: 703-437-6312; email: