CVAD wins big at Graphis New Talent Competition 2021

Cover of the Graphis New Talent Annual 2021The College of Visual Arts and Design wins big at this year's Graphis New Talent Competition taking home 4.3 percent of the total awards by 50 percent of the UNT CVAD entries!

With 1,068 entries from 61 schools in seven countries, UNT CVAD's 44 entries (4.1 percent of all entries) earned 4.3 percent of the 517 medals awarded. Graphis awarded 20 platinum, 147 gold (4.6 percent won by UNT CVAD students), and 398 silver (4.36 percent by UNT CVAD students) awards for work from students whose professors drove them to create highly professional works. 

"Student recognitions like these bring sunshine to my day," said Hepi Wachter, chair, CVAD Department of Design. "The communication design faculty works hard to prepare students for extracurricular successes like the Graphis New Talent Awards, and what a success story. I love that engagement and how it boosts student confidence. Kudos to the design faculty for preparing students so well, and my very warm congratulations to the communication design students who created outstanding work and represented our program so well."

Entries were judged by established professionals, including Carolyn Hadlock from Young & Laramore agency; Carmit Haller, owner, Carmit Design Studio, Boris Ljubicic, Studio International; Youhei Ogawa, Ogawayyouhei Design; Sasha Vidakovic, SVIDesign; Craig Cutler, Craig Cutler Studio; and, Stan Musilek, Musilek Photography. Also judging was Fred Woodward, AIGA Gold Medal Winner for lifetime achievement and former art director for D MagazineTexas Monthly, Rolling Stone, Esquire, and GQ

Among the judges also was Rex Peteet, an alumnus (1973-1976) of the UNT advertising art program and founder of Sibley Peteet Design in Dallas and Austin, Texas. Peteet is a recipient of the Golden Egg, a lifetime achievement award from the Dallas Society of Visual Communications.

The results of the New Talent Competition are published in an annual publication that contains award-winning entries in design, advertising, photography, and film/video.

Gold Awards

Student name - Name of entry - Category of Entry - Teacher name

Anna Long - Zinneken’s Gourmet Waffles - Logo - Doug May

Parker Metcalf - Eris - Brand campaign - Doug May

Ashley Owen - Anchored Ship Coffee - Letterhead - Karen Dorff

Javier Ruiz Navarro - Flip Side Self-Promo - Design Vinyl - Erica Holeman

Hana Snell - Paper Theory - Logo - Doug May

Silver Awards

Student name - Name of entry - Category of Entry - Teacher name

Kristina Armitage - Beast & Cleaver - Logo - Karen Dorff

Andrew Ashton - 7-Eleven Brand Campaign - Doug May

Andrew Ashton - Knives Out - Film Title - David Wolske

Andrea Chavez - Pasos - Logo - Doug May

Andrew Galvan - Birkenstock - Logo - Doug May

Andrea Garoutte - Capital Bee Company - Logo - Doug May

Alexis Houser - Mammoth Yarn & Fiber - Logo - Doug May

Taylor Minth - Shade Tree Players - Logo - Doug May

Taylor Minth - Moondance - Brand Campaign - Doug May

Taylor Minth - Red Fox Yarn - Logo - Karen Dorff

Cecilia Ontiveros - Blood and Black Lace - Film Title - David Wolske

Julia Pamer - Coraline - Film Title - David Wolske

Holden Pizzoloto - Magic Mouse Toys - Logo - Karen Dorff

Javier Ruiz Navarro - Kunsthaus Graz - Brand Campaign - Doug May

Javier Ruiz Navarro - Asylum - Film Title - David Wolske

Hana Snell - Bare - Packaging series - Karen Dorff

Hana Snell - Je ne sais quoi - Brochure - Doug May

Honorable Mention Awards

Student name - Name of entry - Category of Entry - Teacher name

Claire Behan - Native Boutique Hostels - Advertising - Doug May

Kelsey Gil - Baked Goods - Logo - Doug May

Mai-Linh Lillard - Métier Dating App - Interactive Design - Doug May

Ashley Linch - ooops hotel - Logo - Doug May

Ashley Linch - Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds - Poster - Karen Dorff

Ashley Linch - Type Fonts A-Z - Typography - Doug May

Taylor Minth - We Are All Conspiracy Theorists - Editorial - Karen Dorff

Stephanie Moreno - Little Libros Book Series - Books - Doug May

Mir Ortiz - Muhammad Ali - Poster - Stephen Zhang

Mariangelis Pagan - Tapestry - Typography - Karen Dorff

Holden Pizzolato - Bill Evans - Typography - Karen Dorff

Lee Rhoden - Mistakes Were Made - Book Design - Doug May

Javier Ruiz Navarro - Zapp’s Design - Packaging - Karen Dorff

Javier Ruiz Navarro - Jaleló Travel Guide - Books - Doug May

Javier Ruiz Navarro - Desire and Disgust - Photography - Christopher Meerdo

Gradyn Sherrill - Walrus & Carpenter - Letterhead - Karen Dorff

Gradyn Sherrill - Walrus & Carpenter - Logo - Karen Dorff

Jessica Smith, Heather Robinson, Ashleigh Calvert - Mobile Tech Xperience Bus - Environmental - Stephen Zhang

Hana Snell - Eataly - Brochures - Karen Dorff

Hana Snell - Pixo Desk Lamp Ads - Advertising - Doug May

Shadow Trammel - Fracking Sucks - Poster - Karen Dorff



Share now or add us to your RSS feed! 

Facebook Icon
Twitter Icon
Pinterest Icon
Mail Icon
linkedin sharing button
SMS sharing button

Editor's Note: Please note that information in the stories on CVAD News and Views are likely to change or degrade over time, especially the links to various websites. For current information on a specific topic or resources, search the UNT or CVAD websites or the world wide web. Email your questions and comments to CVAD Marketing,



Note: Should you need a reasonable accommodation because of a disability to fully participate in a CVAD event, please contact the CVAD Dean's Office,, 940-565-2855. Please make the request as soon as possible to allow sufficient time to arrange the accommodation.

UNT is an accredited institutional member of the National Association of Schools of Art and Design, 11250 Roger Bacon Drive, Suite 21, Reston, VA 20190-5248, phone: 703-437-0700; fax: 703-437-6312; email: